Music Reduces Pain In Fibromyalgia Patients

New research shows that music can help to reduce pain in Fibromyalgia patients.

New research shows that music can help to reduce pain in Fibromyalgia patients.

Ah, music. There probably isn’t a better feeling then snuggling into your pajamas, turning up your MP3 player and blasting your favorite song. It can be incredibly uplifting, and have almost an ethereal quality to it. There was never any doubt in my mind that music is one of the tools that has helped me to cope with my pain on a personal level. There’s a bit of a mantra that I like to live by when my pain is really bad, “When the headphones are on, the world is off.” 

Music As A Painkiller?

New research indicates that music can actually reduce the pain of Fibromyalgia and even increase our mobility. Researchers studied 22 Fibromyalgia patients, who were passively exposed to two different auditory conditions. The first auditory condition was self-chosen, soothing and pleasant music. The second auditory condition was a “control” auditory condition, being pink noise. The patients were then asked to rate their pain and perform a “timed-up & go task (TUG for short)” The TUG exercise was performed in order to measure their functional mobility after each respective auditory condition. By listening to the relaxing and pleasant music, the subject’s pain was greatly reduced, and their functional mobility increased as well. 

Is Music An Analgesic?

Granted, every person is different, and what works for some may not work for others. Perhaps you’re not really a music person. I’ve always spoken about the importance of distraction. What is your “thing?” A hobby that you like to do? I truly believe that it’s all about re-focusing our minds and putting that energy into something else.
But perhaps more research will be done into this! I am curious to see what else could come of it. It’s just nice to know that Fibromyalgia is being studied and researched! 

5 comments

  1. Music definitely does help me, and keeps me going. When my nerves are frazzled from pain and exhaustion, music is often the only way that I can manage to get myself on track or at least push through it all.

  2. I never realized it in the beginning (I’ve had Fibro among other things for 7 years) but I definitely have notices it these past few years. Esp. when I am singing ouloud and out of tune. I find dancing ( by myself) when I feel good is my form of exercise and fun!!

  3. This does not surprise me. After several days (or more) without listening to music, I am most likely at least somewhat depressed. Listening to music helps to lessen it. I usually make a point of listening to music at least a few times a week to lower the chance I’ll end up that way.

    1. I forgot to ask – Does anyone have suggestions for earbuds? My ears are sensitive and I can’t wear them for long. I have finally stretched out my headphones enough that I can usually wear them for a while, but I need something I can use with my iphone.

      1. i also have trouble with the earbuds and have found that SkullCandy earbuds are the best I have tried. They are inexpensive and readily available. It helps that they come in cool colors!!

Leave a Reply

