Don’t just look ~ see!

yogi being observant

Today I went to a cell phone service store.  When I walked into the store there was already one person waiting in line.  I was able to lean up against a post for some support.  While waiting in line it’s impossible to not hear what the Employee’s are talking about with other Customer’s.

The one Employee started discussing a service problem with a female Customer in great details.  The other Employee commented softly that she really didn’t want to know all of the “details”.

I noticed the lady being helped placed her hand on her  hip/low back for a second.  I saw that slight twinge that appeared on her face for a second.  As the Employee said that he was going to try something else on her phone – the lady said “I’m just going to just sit over here” pointing to a bench just a short distance away.  He said to her “Naw, that’s ok – you can hang out here with me”.

I kept watching her.  She placed her hand again on her lower back.  I told the customer next to me that the lady over there is in pain.  “See how she keeps puttin her hand on her back” , “She’s hurting”.

The Employee kept working, got up and moved to another workstation leaving the woman waiting at the counter.

I knew the tell-tale signs.  I have done the shifting of legs while waiting in lines.  Trying to keep the pressure off of each one.  I have pushed my hand in my lower back trying to move some of the trigger points or to stop the shooting pain.

She would glance over to where there was a seat and back to the Employee who had not returned to her yet.

Thinking back the time really wasn’t all that long.  But for those of us who suffer from pain by just “being” ~ the time moves so very slowly for us when having to stand in lines.

I looked around the sales counter and saw they had benches in front of each of the stations.  The lady waiting was standing in a way that she could not see the bench around the corner.

It was emotionally painful for me to watch her.

I walked over to her, lightly touched her arm and asked “would you like to sit down?” showing her just around the counter the bench.

She nodded slightly saying “yes, thank you.”

I returned to where I had been waiting.  I turned around just at the time she was starting to sit down.

That is when I saw what we all feel.  She moved so very slowly, lowering herself to sit, eyes closing at the last-minute.

I wonder would I have ever noticed that before it became my life.

I was raised right by my parents.  I was taught to hold the door for the elderly or someone using crutches.  I was taught to have compassion for those in need.

She did not have a cast, wheelchair or anything outwardly that would make you believe she may need help.

I honestly do not think that I would have noticed her before…

livingwithillness

I am a Fibro~ Warrior Living Life!!

warrior

2 comments

  1. Interesting. Very interesting. I’ve noticed myself analyzing the gait of those around me when I’m out at the store or whatever, and being more aware of the body language displayed. As you say, I honestly do not think I would have noticed it before, but now I can see more clearly when people are in pain. I am more empathetic. I suppose it’s the blessing that comes along with the curse.

  2. Oh, yes. I know that feeling all too well. And yes, I now “see” lot more than I did before my diagnosis. I’m also far less quick to judge those who use the handicapped spaces who don’t “look” disabled. (Which was a REALLY hard one for me, since my son’s in a wheelchair.) I’m also more tolerant of people who are “scattered” from time to time, because fibrofog and “word salad” is a part of my life now.

Leave a Reply

