The New Year, The New Perspective

Snowflakes twinkling upon the treetops, the sound of bells jingling around every corner we turn, there is no doubt that the holidays are hurtling towards us at top speeds. The holidays are a beautiful time, a time of giving, a time of love and also, a time of reflection. Reflecting on our families, friends, our lives, and reflecting on the year that has flew by us in seemingly an instant. Join me as we take a look back at what the past year has been at Fibro Fighterz, and what 2014 will bring us!

Spread The Spoons Awareness Campaign

We were so excited for our latest Fibromyalgia awareness campaign! Not only is it a wonderful way to get people talking about Fibromyalgia and chronic illness in general, but it was also a fun and crafty project that many of our members had a blast participating in! Below are photos that were submitted by some of our beautiful members of The Fibro Fighterz Facebook Page!

tanya
Submitted By: Tanya

misty

Submitted By: Misty

ivory

Submitted By: Ivory

As you can see, many of our members had a blast creating these beautiful spoons that represent who they are, what they stand for and how they spread Fibromyalgia awareness! We will continue this awesome awareness campaign indefinitely, as it has seen huge success and we would like to give everybody the chance to participate!
If you would like to see other member’s spoons, or to submit your own, please click here!

The Attitude Of Gratitude

This project is something that is very near and dear to my heart. As someone who has lived with not only Fibromyalgia syndrome, but OCD and Depression as well, it has taken me years of work to learn how to be grateful for what my illnesses have given me, rather than what they have taken away from me. At Fibro Fighterz, we encourage all of our members to think about that same question. If we constantly dwell within the negatives of our illnesses, it will eat us alive. I would like to share with you some of the highlights from our Attitude of Gratitude Project.

“I have learned to be good to myself when I need to. I have learned, at least in some measure, to listen to my body and give it what it needs, such as rest, etc. I have learned to be grateful for people who care and a doctor that tries his best to help and listens to me. I have learned that I AM NOT weak; I am strong enough to take what fibro throws at me and keep on going.”
-Sonya R.

“I have become a stronger woman and I know when something is wrong with my body. I this illness has humbled me. I have a bestie whom has breast cancer and is fight hard I am so proud of her so I am grateful that I have a illness that I can live with and makes me happy to know I have support here and other groups”
-Kristi C.

“I am so grateful for the people around me who have learned about fibromyalgia and understand that I can have really good days and some very nasty painful days. They have always been there for me. I’m also grateful for the friends I have found online who also must fight this condition. They all give me strength and encouragement. And they are always there with an encouraging word during a flare up. They have helped me understand more about this disease and how it affects so many as it also affects family and loved ones in the sense of not only taking care of me on bad days but also having to understand when I can’t join them on a night out or a day of shopping. I think accepting that I was never going to be so called normal again was really the hardest for me. Not being able to go back to work in the construction field really ate me up for years”
-Clark C.

Those are just snippets of the many projects that we have been featuring on our website, and we are so excited to share with you a few of the NEW campaigns and projects that we will be introducing in 2014!

Dear Chronic Illness

It is well known that a very therapeutic and cathartic activity is writing and journaling about our experiences. It helps us to get our feelings out of our heads and onto our papers or computer screens. That said, we are excited to announce our “Dear Chronic Illness” campaign! This campaign will be featured on our website as well as our Facebook page. There will be more information to come in the new year, but to get a general feel of the project, we will be writing a letter to our illness, explaining how they make us feel, what we’re doing to combat them, etc. In short, we write to our illnesses as if they were a real person. Keep an eye out for more information!

Fighter Friendz Private Talk

In the past few weeks, we have been working hard on our secret group, FighterFriendz Private Talk. Many members have requested a private place to talk to others about their experiences and lives with Fibromyalgia syndrome, one where family members and others could not have access to, so that everyone could post freely without any fear of repercussions coming down on them. That is how our secret group came to be. We are already 2,500 members strong, and growing more and more each day. If you would like to join our secret group, click the link below and we will add you to the group. So how does joining work? We will share with you the link to our “dummy account,” which in essence is only used for adding members to the group. Once your friend requests have been accepted, you will be added to the group within 72 hours.

Click Here To Add Fibro Fighterz & Request To Be Added To Our Group!

Note: The process may take a few days, as we get many requests and we screen all of our members in order to keep troublemakers and trolls out. So please be patient. 

2 comments

  1. I am so grateful to have become part of this Fantastic Group! I enjoy reading and writing with and to the group! I always say
    Everything is Relative ! My Dad always said “This too Shall Pass” I am interested in making a spoon who can help me with that please ? Be Well

Leave a Reply

