IBS or Icky Bothersome & Smelly

FYI to reader:  I repost my blog here;  I hope that way new readers can see from the beginning of this journey.  It helps me too.  I re-read them and have ah-ha moments.  One of them is from this post.  This past week; I started having the most incredible pains in my side, diarrhea, cramping.  It took me a couple of days to realize  why this was happening.  I had run out of my Pro-biotic when I was filling my weekly medicine containers.  It had been 3 days since I had taken any – had gone to Wal-Mart thinking I will just pick up some.  I read them and knew I needed to wait until I could go to the GNC store the next day.  I felt complete relief 2 days after starting to retake it. Note to self:  EIther always have 2 bottles on hand or buy one before I run out.

The following post was originally;   Posted on December 7, 2011 by swansonmjsicky

Let’s add to the fun shall we…. How would you like to have so much air in your body that it has to escape from you at both ends of your body, often at the same time?  Disgusted is the word that comes to mind. One of the many conditions found in roughly 40 – 70 percent of Fibromites is IBS –  Irritable Bowel Syndrome What is IBS – After researching page after page on the internet for definitions, symptoms, and treatments the best I can come up with is the following; IBS is a “syndrome,” meaning a group of symptoms that affects the colon, or large bowel (which is the part of the digestive tract that stores stool). The most common symptoms of IBS are:

  • Abdominal pain or cramping
  • Bloating & nausea
  • Gas (flatulence)
  • Diarrhea or constipation — sometimes even alternating bouts of constipation and diarrhea
  • Mucus in the stool
  • Urinary frequency
  • Causes and Treatments may include;
  • Fatty foods, milk products, chocolate, alcohol, and caffeinated and carbonated drinks can trigger symptoms. (INCLUDES CHEWING GUM, USING STRAWS OR SUCKING ON MINTS)

*This leads to another problem to be discussed at a later time – really (no chewing gum) – so what the heck do I do about the dry mouth?

  • Eating foods with fiber and eating small meals throughout the day may reduce symptoms.
  • Stress makes it worse but does not cause IBS.
  • Treatment for IBS may include medicine, stress relief, and changes in eating habits. (sure why not.. don’t I already do this for every other condition that I have?)

One of the definitions for Irritable is to be easily irritated or annoyed – well that is an understatement in this case. It is more than slightly annoying to burp so much that it causes you to throw up (air). How do you explain this to someone not experiencing it? I am someone who does not even swear –  what am I supposed to say, by the way I have flatulence and eructation’? Ha, how many people do you know that would know the definition of both of those words. Most of the people who I know would say Burping, Belching, Tooting, or Farting. It gets harder and harder to do girl burps or toots – especially when each occurrence could last up to 30 minutes at a time. I looked up the following questions What is the courtesy, etiquette, and/or best way to handle audible flatulence? – It is explained that the only way to properly handle it is to leave the room. That brings up another question – how do you deal with this when you are at work? or someplace that you can not excuse yourself for such a lengthy time. I work with all men. They probably would not even notice if I spent 30 minutes eliminating air from my body in noisy or smelly ways. Well, until I can come up with a good solution – if you can’t find me for long lengths of time – assume I am hiding in a bathroom somewhere.

warrior

I am a Fibro Warrior ~ Living Life

Facebook page; https://www.facebook.com/survivingfibro

Leave a Reply

