Regarding the weather…

I’ve been hearing a LOT recently from my fellow Fibro Fighterz about the weather’s ups and downs affecting them negatively. Over to the East, Mother Nature is having a bi-polar spazz-fest, and here in the desert, overwhelming heat is sending my fatigue levels higher and higher.

I’m re-blogging this from Fighting Fibromyalgia (http://painfighter.wordpress.com/) who re-blogged it from RebuildingWellness, because I thought it was some neat food for thought. As I continue to learn more about fibromyalgia, and as I continue to become more sensitive to my body, I imagine that I’ll start to recognize when MY symptoms “change”. Right now, it all just seems so random that I have a hard time ferreting out the cause for a particular ache or twinge.

And so, without further ado, the blog post entitled “Weather or Not”, from Fighting Fibromyalgia.

WEATHER OR NOT — FIBROMYALGIA UNDER PRESSURE (By Sue)

Do you experience INCREASED fibromyalgia (and/or other chronic) symptoms with seasonal changes?

For most of us — yes, symptoms do increase.

But … which ones?

Some of you tell me that fatigue flares to unbearable levels during the heat – especially if there’s high humidity to boot. Some say their symptoms of pain are overwhelming when cold frigid winds blow. And, symptoms such as migraines, sinus pain, and allergic tendencies can increase during stormy and unpredictable weather.

Of course, there’s also the flurry of symptoms that increase rightbefore a significant weather change. Most of us have experienced that type of flare. We really are sensitive beings, aren’t we?

To read more about being a “sensitive type,” read this post about my Tuning Fork Analogy.

Some of us feel as if we could hire ourselves out as weather forecasters or gauges. It makes sense! We’re surely more accurate than a groundhog, right? (I’ll have to do some research about Punxsutawney Phil’s annual salary….) We can predict rain, wind, heat, or significant change by the accompanying pain and fatigue in various parts of the body. For some, the physical impact centers around areas of former injury (broken bones, torn muscles/ligaments/tendons, etc.). For others, it centers around areas of consistent pain such as particular joints, sinuses, or an overall generalized overwhelming fatigue.

In studying the correlation between symptoms and the weather, we need to fine tune the question. We should ask, WHAT symptoms change and WHEN do they change?

For me, change is the operative word. Even though my symptoms are now very minor (for which I’m very grateful), I still pay attention to the slightest physical twinge. I’m aware of incoming weather fronts because my symptoms CHANGE when the weather is about to CHANGE. It’s more than the temperature, precipitation, wind, and humidity levels. For me, a barometric pressure change can be felt throughout the body. The bigger the weather change, the bigger the symptoms change.

Do barometric pressure changes affect you? If so, where do you feel it first, and for how long? Can you mitigate changes by taking preventative action such as increasing certain supplements, drinking more water, and getting regular exercise?

I can’t wait to hear what you think! Jot down your weather-related experiences below…”

2 comments

  1. I have been keeping track of my bad days. Then I just found forecast.io and can go back and see what the barometer readings were and the high readings matched up to my bad days. I always thought that weather changes cause flares, but now I am confident they do. And future readings can maybe even help my plan my days!

    1. That site is WAY cool! Thank you for sharing! I’m curious to go back and see how the weather has corresponded to my bad days, as well.

Leave a Reply

