The Fierce Fabulous Blogger Awardz: Julie White of ManagingFibro!

So, as some of you know, we recently started the Fierce  & Fabulous Blogger Awardz! What it essentially is, is sharing blogs that we find to be inspirational, motivating, positive and full of information! We want to share the amazing blogs that we find with everyone! In this installment, we learn a little more about Ms. Julie White, of ManagingFibro.net! Her blog is so full of unique information, uplifting posts and positivity!

Julie

My name is Julie, and I live in a coastal town 18 miles north of Boston.  I am a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker,  and I own my own small consulting Business.  I am also an adjunct professor, avid traveler, and former runner surviving with fibromyalgia and still coming to grips with this whole “chronic” thing.

I’ve been working in the of Criminal Justice and Behavioral Health for over 18 years, and had prided myself in my career.  In 2008, I was in a car accident that left me with back and neck injuries and post-concussion syndrome.  I recovered from that and continued to work, run and exercise regularly.  I did have more frequent headaches following the accident, and my back and neck pain definitely led to exercise modification.

In the summer of 2010, I was really surprised by how fatigued I was, and noticed how much more I was sleeping.  In the fall,  I started to notice a troublesome pain in the back of my right upper leg.  I attributed it to pulling my hammy or not being able to wear heals like I used to.  That continued throughout the fall and winter, and I found it odd that Ibuprofen did not help with the pain.  From  January through the Spring of 2011, I began to have a lot of GI Issues.  In May, I was hospitalized for three days for Colitis.  Things went downhill pretty rapidly from there.  My pain in the leg became unbearable and spread to other body parts. My arm and hands were so weak and sore, that I had trouble typing and holding things. Crohns and other GI issues were ruled out.  I was sent to Rheumatology and tested for everything under the sun.  Everything came back negative.  The doctor did comment that I did not have a reflex in the right leg, and asked if I had been to Neuro.  By September, 2011 I had numbness and tingling in my hands, legs and feet. I was having trouble walking, and was having horrible facial pain.  I was sent to a Neurologist.  My MRI results were not clear, as there were lesions, but they were not typical to MS. After that I had Evoked Potentials Test and a Spinal Tap.   I was also sent to Endocrinology along the way.  An earlier scan had shown a lump on my thyroid. That was biopsied and came back negative.  Right around that time, all of the tests for MS came back negative.  In January 2012, my Neurologist diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia. I am still being followed for teh nodules on my thyroid, as well.

I have spent this past year informing myself about this disease, seeking out treatments, and experimenting with different Medications.  I have recently gone off of some of the meds prescribed to me for Fibromyalgia because of the side effects.  I also think they were making things worse.  I now follow a strict version of the Paleo Diet called the WHOLE30, and I have seen great results  I see a therapist every other week, and we sometimes try hypnosis.  I try to exercise at least 5 days a week for 20 minutes, meditate regularly, and I see a chiropractor once a week.

This has truly turned my life upside down in so many ways.  I am so inspired by the people who I talk to who have this, and have been able to manage their symptoms and live full lives.  I am striving for balance in my life and in managing my health, career, social and romantic life.  Dating with Fibromyalgia has it’s own unique challenges. I’m hoping to learn more from others and pass along any tips that I find along the way!”

Check out Julie’s website: ManagingFibro.net!

Visit the Managing Fibro Facebook Page Here!

One comment

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be useful to read through content from other writers
    and practice a little something from their web sites.

Leave a Reply

