The Wizard of Oz Dropped Me By To Say Hello!

This is my first ever attempt at blogging so bear with me as I struggle through being “The Newbie”.  I suppose I should take a little time and introduce myself first and foremost so those reading this have some idea of where I am coming from and who I am.

My name is Vicky, I am 47 years of age, married for 26 years, three children, 2 beautiful granddaughters, and I love animals.  I was adopted when I was 6 weeks old and am so thankful for my parents (my Father is deceased and my Mom is still living).  I owe them so much, but I’ll get into that part of my life another time.  I am thankful for every day I wake up alive even with all the pain and heartaches that life hands all of us.

I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in 2004, but believe I had it many years prior.  I was always in pain, couldn’t walk across the room without feeling as though I was going to collapse, I was depressed, I had poor sleep, migraines, and I just pretty much didn’t give a hoot about anything.  I went to my Doctor and literally begged him to run every test there was; HIV, Hanta Virus, West Nile, Lupus, RA, Cancer, hepatitis, Crohn’s, MS, and anything else he could think of. I told him I did not care about the cost, I simply wanted to know what was wrong with me. When all those came back negative, he conducted the trigger point test on me and not knowing what he was looking for, I was tender in all points and he informed me that it was Fibromyalgia.
My Dad had passed away in 1997 and am just certain that is when this all began to manifest itself. I thought I was handling his death and I was nowhere close. My life since 1997 has been like a tornado that destroys lives so frequently where I live. I almost gotten divorced because of what Fibro brings to ones life, I’ve been on and off of so many different meds that I should own stock in some pharmaceutical company!  LOL  I have so much to write about, my head is full of things that I feel might be helpful to someone else.  I won’t fill this blog with too much as want you to come back and visit and see what else I have in store.

Thank you for taking the time to read this first blog attempt of mine.  I’m hoping to gain some insight from all of you as well.  It’s a new day tomorrow and hopefully a better one than today!  My best to each of you and carry on! 🙂

7 comments

  1. 👍👍You did very well. Will look forward to reading your blog in the future! Keep up the good work!!!

  2. Well written look forward to following your Blog it will be the first blog I have ever wanted to follow of all of them out there. hugs

    1. Well Barb, thank you so much and I am very honored that mine is the only one you have ever wanted to follow! I still have so much to learn and figure out. My main reason for doing this is to simply help people in any way possible. When I was diagnosed, I didn’t know anyone who had Fibro and doctors still thought it was all in our heads. I’ve have been an advocate since the beginning just because I know what it’s like and I was so angry that doctors didn’t want to acknowledge there was something wrong with us even though it wasn’t visible!
      I hope to get on here again soon! Take care and see ya again soon I hope!

  3. I have been trying to blog for a while know! Some people can really keep up with doing frequent posts…I am not one of those! LOL I am sure you will do great Vicki! I too have been on so many drugs I call myself a lab rat hoho Have you found a combination that works? I hope you come by and check out my attempt at blogging.

    I lost my husband just recently divorced 12/12 although he had abandon me way before claiming that I was faking my problems!!
    My mom passed in 1989 and then my dad in 2005.I have found a a possible treatment for trauma memories there is a blurb on it.

    I look forward to seeing your next post!..

    1. I checked out a few of your blogs and you do just fine. Writing has always came easily for me and I guess people enjoy what I write since they always tell me that I have a way with words. I just speak from the heart and it somehow just flows right. Thank you for your nice comments!

      Right now I take Savella for the Fibro, Requip for RLS, Naproxzen for arthirtis, and Wellbutrin for depression. I don’t know if these added with all the other meds I take for high blood pressure, high cholesterol, allergies, hypothyroidism, stomach upset from the arthirtis medicine, overactive bladder, daily antibiotic for something most have never heard of (Hidradenitis Suppurativa, which is like a reverse acne under my arm pits. Rather than making a head come to the surface it goes the opposite direction and man alive is it ever painful. Cannot pop it like you can a zit, it build up so much pressure and either must be lanced or it burst open itself. You couldn’t stand to pop it anyway and it is too painful.), plus vitamins and supplements. In a days time I take 25 pills and I am only 47!

      I must read more of your blogs when I have time and will for sure be checking out more on here as time allows. Take care and my best to you always! ~V~

      1. Wow! I am real good at taking certain pill but I find most of the vitamins I need to take are way to large for me to swallow. I know they help and wish I could tolerate them.

        I have been loosing my umph in wanting to feel better …. meaning I am not taking care of myself like I should be. I know what I must do but I have become so fearful of even just walking because of the Cataplexy I got pretty bad last year and that is from my Narcolepsy I was recently diagnosed with. Part of me is wondering of this has been the culprit all along…no such luck with that theory.

        I thanks you for taking the time to read my blog!

Leave a Reply

