Song of the Day

Posted on May 8, 2011 by swansonmjs

I started writing this blog on Wednesday (May 4th) – I went to see a play with my Daughter and some friends the other day. We went to see Annie. It is not the first time that I have went to see this musical but it is the first time that I thought about the song afterwards… Tomorrow2009_103120090105today0036

After having many cloudy cold days – we have finally had 2 consecutive sunny days with slightly warmer weather.  I sit here at work humming….

The sun’ll come out Tomorrow So ya gotta hang on ‘Til tomorrow Come what may

As I said I started writing this on Wed (sunny) – I was feeling amazing. The sun was shining – near painless day – hit the pool for 2 water classes.

On Thursday, the clouds and the rain arrived – no time for swimming – I find the words in my head being …. Rainy Days and Monday’ s always get me down.

I had mild headache, and lots of target points.

This led me to start thinking about the true powers of the Sun. I began to look up medical studies. Is it no wonder that ancient civilization and American Indians worshipped the Sun and Nature’s benefits? A Fibro friend saw a show the other day that said that if people would reconnect with Nature and the Earth that they would benefit immensely. It stated that we have separated ourselves f rom Nature and suggests for at least 1/2 hour a day to be outside and if at all possible walk barefoot in the grass. Feel the Earth under your body. I love walking barefoot in fresh-cut grass – who knew it could benefit me.

Following is a list of some of the proven benefits of mild sun exposure that I found while researching:

  1. Increased endorphins and serotonin in the brain.
  2. Melatonin; enhances sleep, slows down agin
  3. Natural antiseptic; kills viruses
  4. Stimulates appetite, improves digestion and metabolism
  5. Increases white blood cells to fight germs, increases oxygen, balances hormones
  6. Lowers pain levels

There are many more benefits that I have not listed. One symptom is that Fibro has made my eyes extremely light-sensitive.  My basic sunglasses are not nearly enough any more. I find that my house has become a darken dungeon. I feel trapped inside – closing the blinds – turning off all lights, wearing shades in the house.  I go to the tanning bed to get some artificial sun the heat makes me come alive.  During a swimming class of Fibromites everyone of them comment on how the weather plays a major impact on their emotional and physical status.  In the same breath, the light and the heat of the sun have become almost unbearable. My Mom has been after me for years to purchase the light bulbs that give you artificial sun in your home. My Chiropractor has now said the same thing.  I will be adding this to my shopping list.

Today; the sun is shining, I attended 2 swimming classes, laid in the tanning bed for 12 minutes and even tho I had very little sleep last night I am having a wonderful day. I am near painless and cleaned 3 rooms, a hall closet and made supper.  I am starting to get tired and know that I need to go to bed early to hold onto this feeling – to make it last another day.

I will also be adding to my shopping list a pair of very dark sunglasses (wrap around) and a summer hat. I hate wearing hats – however if it will give me the ability to spend more outdoors and hopefully benefit physically and emotionally – then I will be wearing a hat.

Maybe my new song will be by John Denver:

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry Sunshine on the water looks so lovely Sunshine almost always makes me high

sunshine meditation

Leave a Reply

