Being fabulously sick

You can still be fabulous even though you are sick.

Each woman needs a special little something in her life. For each of us – this significant little extra makes the world of difference – what lights up your world?

 

Is it wearing perfume, having your hair a particular way (or a wig if you have lost your hair/have thinning hair), or some other little extra that makes you feel special?

 

There are other little things you can do to bring a little bit of luxury and excitement into your life. How about wearing a scarf or a shawl/pashmina over ordinary clothes, fabulous slippers instead of heels, you can even combine practicality with style. Rubber gloves are available in all manner of designs these days, there are even ones trimmed with fur, so you can still look and feel fabulous whilst doing mundane cleaning chores!

 

Now, I have anticipated your objections, I can almost hear them as I type…”but I have trouble just managing the basics, how on Earth can I achieve fabulousness as well”.

 

The only obstacle is in your mind, if you want something badly enough, you will be able to make it happen. Are you bored, stuck in a rut and tired of your life? Add some pizzaz without leaving your bed or chair if necessary.

 

I have seen the most beautiful bellydance performance ever by a woman in a wheelchair. As with any performance, the best part of it was that indefinable personal quality, the depth of meaning that her face and gestures silently conveyed. She moved her torso, head and arms beautifully and twirled in her chair, and enticingly swirled veils.

 

My pursuit of fabulousness no matter what physical state I found myself in stemmed from the realization that my house was never going to be tidy or clean enough. My schedule was never going to be clear enough and my body never going to be fit enough to wait to go out and pursue fun. With both fibromyalgia and rheumatoid arthritis, some days it could be difficult to just dress myself and move about, let alone do any household chores. I needed to think beyond every day drudgery and realised that if I wanted fun in my life, I was going to have to grab at it at any opportunity and make things happen for myself. I encourage you to do the same!

 

If friends ask what they can do to help you, how about requesting something for yourself instead of help with a household chore? You could suggest that they paint your toenails for you or shave your legs. Even children can be great at painting toenails! (Though I wouldn’t let them loose with a razor on your legs.)

 

Most people want to help, but feel really helpless. If you give them a job, you both feel better. Have them run you a bath.

 

It all comes down to what your priorities are. For some people it is mascara, others their hair, or as mentioned before, perfume and painted nails. What makes you feel special?

 

When I am feeling really low, I just don’t take life seriously anymore. I get really silly. This helps me – if you don’t like the life you have, create something else. Sure – you can’t get yourself and your surroundings magically into tip top shape by the wave of a magic wand…so choose one thing or a couple of things that are “doable”.

 

Another great thing to do for yourself is to get some form of exercise. This is practical as well as fun. How about choosing something that really enthuses you. Many people love dancing. You could just put some music on and move to it however you are able or feel inspired. Just move your arms or one part of your body if the rest is achey. A full on Latin exercise routine is probably out of the question, but even gentle swaying would be a good start.

 

Now I’m serious about the bellydancing thing, if this seems enticing you could look at videos on Utube and take just one move. It may be a hair toss (unless you have lost your hair or it is thinning) although you could tie a scarf around your hair and leave a long drapey piece at the back that you can flounce around. Look on Utube for tying turbans too! So pick a bellydancing move. It may be a hand gesture. Just one hand if you have a dodgy one…practice just this one move. Or just the eyes and facial expressions…there must be one part of your body that is not sore! Practice something fabulous and use your arms to “frame” your face.

 

Next time you are too sore to move, use the time to think up fabulous ideas that you can incorporate into your life once you are able to move again. And dream!

If you enjoyed this article and would like to read more articles that I have written I invite you to visit my website

http://www.defianceofillness.co.nz

I am a survivor from a number of illnesses, including Fibromyalgia and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I live happily in defiance of illness with my family on a kiwifruit orchard near Tauranga, New Zealand, living the life I love and doing the things I enjoy and believe are important.

I am the author of “The Crystal Diary” written about my late daughter, published in April 2012. “Living Happily in Defiance of Illness” was published in August 2012, it is healing guidebook for people affected by chronic illness. Both books are available in printed format and the Defiance book is available in EBook format for instant download.

Leave a Reply

