Breaking the Pain Cycle

The more pain you have, the more pain you will have.  That statement seems like nonsense, at least to “normals”, but to us fibromites it should make perfect sense.  There is an interesting phenomenon that I have noticed in my personal situation and I wonder if any others have noticed this also.

For the past few days the weather in my part of Virginia has been very chilly in the mornings, in the high forties to low fifties.  I know that might not seem very cool to some but most of us know how cold affects our bodies.  So I have been having a LOT of pain due to the weather.  In past years it has not affected me to this extreme and frankly I am a bit worried since I can’t stay inside by a roaring fire all winter!  Anyway, what I have been experiencing these past few days is an all over achiness, like a low electrical current through my muscles, that my normal pain med dose (1/2 pill hydrocodone 7/750 plus – sometimes – 800 mg ibuprofen) cannot completely eradicate.  Needless to say this also affects my energy and concentration.

Last night when I got home from church around 8:30 I took my nighttime meds and my usual hydro dose and laid down.  As soon as I laid down it popped into my head that I should take another 1/2 of hydro since I was going to sleep anyway and see it that made for a better morning.  It did, in fact, make quite a difference when I woke up.  I did not instantly have the pain in my ribs I have been living with for days on end!  (Bad news is that it is creeping in right now since I have been up for 2 1/2 hours)

That caused me to remember something I keep finding and forgetting (!).  If I can only knock the pain down to a level of 2 or 3 I don’t get relief, really.  As long as that pain continues, I continue to feel dragged down and slightly miserable.  The bad news is that when I feel like that I don’t feel like working or thinking and I can’t stay home all winter 😦  But IF I can get the pain all the way down to zero I can get complete relief at least for a time.  I feel like I am not explaining this clearly (brain fog – know what I want to impart but can’t get the point across) but what I am trying to say is that IF we can get that pain down enough it seems to take longer to return and relieve a lot of the other symptoms.  I guess that seems like a no brainer, but sometimes we have no brain!  LOL

I had noticed this before with my old dose of hydro which was 5/500 that if I took a whole pill versus a half I could get pain relief for hours longer than taking it in two doses.  HEY!  That’s what I was really trying to say! LOL  The drawback to this for me?  A whole pill of 7/750 will make me too sleepy to function at work.  😦  I call that damned if you do and damned if you don’t!  Happy Thursday all!

One comment

  1. Thought I’d update on my day. This morning before I left for work, having reaquainted myself with this truth, I gambled and took 3/4 of the pain pill with my 4 advil! Gutsy, I know! LOL Anyway, it paid off. Got the pain down to zero, well after sitting on the heating pad a bit also, and it is just now coming back around 5pm. I am a happy camper. I am trying to be off my feet as much as I can before bed so I can take some again. I only get 30 pills per month so I have to be cautious.

Leave a Reply

