How I deal with fibro fog

How do I deal with Fibro Fog?

The same way I deal with the other symptoms of Fibromyalgia – in a round about way, never head-on!

After 19 years, I have just gotten so used to being “a bit ditzy” that I and everybody around me have just accepted that that is the way I am. I often can’t find the right words at the right time. I get around this by outright saying to people that I can’t find the right word to express what I’m feeling and most people help me out by making suggestions and helping me to pinpoint the phrase or word that captures the essence of my intention. It is frustrating to know that the perfect word lies buried in the depths of my memory. My husband is like a walking thesaurus! It is simple – just ask for help.

I know that we don’t like asking for help, but it sure takes the stress out of the situation. Accepting that I have limitations and not trying to be super-human has a calming effect on me.

The other way that I get around fibro fog is by communicating via writing. When I’m writing, I just get my thoughts down on the page, often not in complete sentences, just bullet points. Later, I go through and edit. Too much editing and attention to detail detracts from the creative part. If I can’t find the right word when I’m writing, I just put several similar words in brackets and get back to it later, often hours later! It is very satisfying when the word I have been searching for breaks through the fibro fog in my head.

If I’m out, I will write it in my notebook, or if I’m with a friend, I will ask them to remember my special word for me. In this way, writing serves me well. If I’m making a speech or having a meeting with anyone, even my doctor, I will write the important points down. This is just not to remember them, it also stops me stressing about remembering.

I believe that we are all special, that for each perceived negative part of ourselves, there is a bonus gifted part. My illness has brought out the best in myself and everybody around me. My son’s have learned to help others, that although people may be sick, they still can be an important part of society and make huge contributions in areas other than physical work. My husband has been a great role model in compassion.

I have learned the value of life and re-assessed my priorities. Some things that I thought were important, just really are not! These are precious life-lessons. I now have a quality of life that I never would have believed was possible before I got sick. It is very ironic, but the old saying about we never realize or appreciate what we have until it is gone springs to mind.

I have learned to count my blessings. This is a good thing to do in your mind, but also put it on paper in the form of a gratitude journal. This is useful to have on days when you are feeling down and need reminding about the positive aspects of your life that would normally be taken for granted.

The thing I’m most grateful for is that I AM ALIVE! And my sons and husband and close friends and family are as well in this beautiful part of New Zealand called The Bay of Plenty. A little bit of fibro fog and ditziness really doesn’t count in the scheme of things.

If you enjoyed this article and would like to read more articles that I have written I invite you to visit my website http://www.defianceofillness.co.nz

I am a survivor from a number of illnesses, including Fibromyalgia and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I live happily in defiance of illness with my family on a kiwifruit orchard near Tauranga, New Zealand, living the life I love and doing the things I enjoy and believe are important.

I am the author of “The Crystal Diary” written about my late daughter, published in April 2012. “Living Happily in Defiance of Illness” was published in August 2012, it is healing guidebook for people affected by chronic illness. Both books are available in printed format and the Defiance book is available in EBook format for instant download.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the encouraging words it brings hope to a seamlessly hopeless illness. Wow living on a Kiwi Farm that is awesome, I never knew where they grew. Bless you and please keep writing.

Leave a Reply

