Handling Stressful Situations

Picture this: you’re going about your normal day, doing whatever it is that you do each day. When suddenly, a phone call comes in. Your loved one has to have emergency surgery for one reason or another. What happens now? You frantically run about, trying to get everything into place and get yourself into the car and over to the hospital.

Suddenly, you feel that old familiar sting, the pain is coming back. In the midst of all the chaos, you didn’t feel it for a few moments. How do you deal with this in a situation such as that? You’re torn between being strong for your loved one, while trying to deal with the intense amount of pain that you feel. What happens now? How can you deal with all of this at once?

This was my situation yesterday. My little sister, Jessica, also a fellow Fibrofighter was rushed to the ER yesterday morning by my stepdad because she had been throwing up all night and couldn’t keep anything down. Turns out, she has appendicitis, and she is having emergency surgery as we speak. I’m blogging to keep my mind busy, because if I don’t, I will surely fall apart. So it got me to thinking, what are some of the steps that I can take to stay strong for my loved one while still taking care of myself?

The first thing that came to my mind was to take a step back for a moment. It is important to make sure that you yourself are okay before anything else, because really, how strong can you be if you don’t take care of yourself first? So the first thing is to breathe. Stop for a moment and take a few deep cleansing breaths.  Take a drink of water if you need it, and make sure you eat something, just in case the cafeteria is closed when you get there (it might be late at night).

The other important thing to do is to speak to another family member or friend, to let them know what is going on. By doing this, you are reaching out to someone else. Let them know that you are indeed worried for your loved one, and a little scared. Tell them that you may need them to be there for you, even if it’s just someone to talk to. There is nothing wrong with asking for help when you need it, nothing.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. You are so right, in the last two years my husband was diagnosed with colo-rectal cancer via a trip to the ER. He was in the hospital for almost a month with surgery, infections & allergic reactions to meds. I work fulltime & couldn’t affort to leave my jof so I would go to work at 5 or 6 in the morning so I could be with him at the hospital. I figured out I had to let go of the little things & deal with the impotant which was him. He had a year of chemo & radiation treatments & I finally realized I had to accept help from others. My church family & neighbors stepped up with meals, lawncare & providing transportation to treatments when I had to work.
    I do not accept help easily as I feel I need to do everything myself, with my fibro I knew I couldn’t concentrate on my husband unless I let go of the other duties. We are now 2 yrs down the road & he has been declared Cancer free!! The concern will never go away but he will be tested in a yr, & then can go 3 yrs.
    Lesson’s learned, figure out what is the most important thing then let go of everything else that is not so important. Talk to family about your pain, talk to YOUR Dr about what you need so you can continue to be the person you need to be.

  2. You’re in my thoughts and prayers, keep us updated on your sister’s progress. I know how you are feeling, my 26 year old niece had a sudden liver transplant out of nowhere. You feel so helpless, knowing they are suffering and there is nothing you can do to help them. Life changes in the blink of an eye, she was perfectly fine, finally getting everything she wanted in life and next thing you know, she is having a liver transplant. You just never know from one day to the next.

Leave a Reply

